I Can’t Be-leaf It…

I have finally managed to get the hang of Cluny leaves. I’m still learning – the joins are messy – but I’ll figure it out.

As you will see, the leaves are all different shapes – the first one was that very fat little one down at the bottom. Funnily enough, I got the first one right with very little trouble, but then messed up the next two badly enough that I had to pull them out. The pattern is here. Shaping the leaves takes some practise. Which I need to do more of…

Cluny Leaf Motif

Cluny Leaf Motif

I love the shape of them – when they come out right. Although I must say that about tatting in general – you’ll never get a straight line, always organic curves.

I also treated myself to some tatting books a while ago. This is ‘Laura’ from Tatted Bookmarks – Cross Shaped’ by Lene BjØrn.

Tatted Cross Bookmark Lene Bjorn

Tatted Cross Bookmark
Lene Bjorn

The cord is made of half-stitches, similar to a Josephine ring. I changed the pattern a little, so that the flowers on the end of the cord matched the cross.

The online tatting class is on the go again. No pressure, lots of help if you need it. Even if you can’t log on for the lessons, the projects and patterns are all available at Georgia Seitz’s website.

8 comments

  1. Nice, I didn’t know you can do Cluny leaves in tatting!

    1. Always something new. I only started about four years ago and things have changed a lot in that time. Tatting really seems to be making a comeback. 😉

  2. The Cluny Leaf Motif is delicately beautiful.

    1. Thanks! I just need to practice some more. 😉

  3. Great Cluny, Did you use a loom or your hand?

    1. Thanks, I use my hand. It still needs some practise, but I’m getting better. 😉

  4. Beautiful . The cross almost looks crocheted – lovely effect 🙂

    1. Thanks! 😉

Leave a Reply

