Tats of a Thousand Days

For those not of a mathematical turn of mind, a thousand days is just under three years. I’m surprised at how much there is – I don’t sit at it for hours a day – but all those spare minutes in queues and waiting rooms add up.

Beginning Pieces 2011 09

Beginning Pieces 2011 09

Two Colours 2011 09

Two Colours 2011 09

Me trying to get the hang of two shuttles… There was a LOT of swearing.

A Mary Konior Cross  2011 10

A Mary Konior Cross
2011 10

Trying my hand at adding some beads, here. Mary Konior is one of my favorite designers. This is from her ‘A Pattern Book of Tatting’. Through a massive stroke of luck, our local library had a copy.

The same Mark Konior bookmark in different thread thicknesses.

The same Mark Konior bookmark in different thread thicknesses.

Also in October 2011.

M. Konior Bookmark in 60 thread.

M. Konior Bookmark in 60 thread.

Another Mary Konior Cross

Another Mary Konior Cross

I think this is also from ‘A Pattern Book of Tatting’.

A flower fragment from the same book. The library didn't get that book back for ages...

A flower fragment from the same book. The library didn’t get that book back for ages…

Unbeaded M. Konior cross

Unbeaded M. Konior cross

This was more or less up to the end of 2011.

I’m not showing the tangles, swearing and impenetrable knots. I do have photos of some of my more creative disasters – such as the disappearing picot or what made me think I could count to three? There is also the incredible teleporting shuttle which appeared to have gone through an impossibly small space. I will share these at another time.

The next post will be 2012.

 

6 comments

  1. It is so great to see someone still tatting. My great aunt Maud tried to teach me when I was five but it was so tough I lost the will to live, yet I can knit & crochet anything..strange

    1. Five is maybe a bit young… Getting the ‘flip’ is tricky.
      I found knitting and crochet much easier to start with. πŸ˜‰

      1. Yes I think it was a tough ask for a five year old, unfortunately my great-aunts Ethel, Annie & Maude weren’t around when I WAS old enough to learn.

        They did leave me with the most vivid memories though of all the beautiful things they made by hand. I am sure that my love of antique textiles started back then.
        I may take up tatting when I finish the house!

  2. I would love to hear those stories- the disappearing picot and teleporting shuttle especially πŸ™‚ The ability to count to three has me intrigued too πŸ˜‰ Looking forward to more tatting posts.

    1. All shall be revealed! Once I can get myself into gear…

Leave a Reply

